User roles

It is necessary to split the roles for most of the operations in business πŸ™Œ. For that purpose, you can add users if you are on a paid plan. New users can be added to assign alerts or to give the authorization to maintain the account if needed.

There are three roles defined for users.

πŸ‘©β€πŸ’ΌπŸ‘¨β€πŸ’Ό Owner

πŸ‘©β€πŸ”¬πŸ‘¨β€πŸ”¬ Admin

πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’» User

By default, the owner role is assigned to the user signing up for WebGazer. The Owner can perform any change on the account.

An Admin can add or delete gazers/pulses and alerts. Users with this role cannot edit the organization details, users or subscription plan.

A User has only permission to view the account. A User cannot edit anything on the account.

Only the Owner can add, update or delete users.

Add a user

Paid plan users can add other users into their account on the Users section.

  1. Go to the Users section
  2. Click on Add User
  3. Write full name, e-mail address and the role for the user to be added
  4. Click Add User

An e-mail is sent to the newly added user to set a user account on WebGazer. After setting a password, the user can access the account in accordance with the role assigned. Until the user activates his/her account by setting a password, a paper plane icon is shown on the lower right corner of his/her avatar.

Pending activation
Pending activation

Change the role of a user

  1. Go to the Users section
  2. Choose the user you want to update from the sidebar on Gazers section
  3. Click on Edit User
  4. Choose Admin or User
  5. Click Edit User

You can give the Owner role to another user as well.

  1. Go to the Users section Choose the user you want to update from the sidebar on Gazers section
  2. Click on Edit User
  3. Click Make Owner
  4. Click Yes, set new owner
An account has a single Owner. So, setting another user as the Owner resets your role as an Admin. The Owner has the highest control over an account, including a subscription plan change.

Delete a user

  1. Go to the Users section
  2. Hover over the role on the user profile
  3. Click on the trash can icon
  4. Click Delete